The Power of Michael Jackson’s Music

June 29, 2009 at 3:33 am 3 comments

In the Girls Circle Facilitator Guide “Who I Am,” there’s an activity where we invite girls to bring a song to the group that expresses five things about who they are.

Do you know this one?

Which Michael Jackson song expresses something about you?

Michael Jackson was born ten months after me. When I was 11, the Jackson 5 were on the radio everyday with I Want You Back, ABC, and soon after, the love song of my early adolescence – I’ll Be There.

And when he stepped out on his own, his music streamed on: Got to Be There, Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough, Beat It, Wanna Be Startin’ Something, The Way You Make Me Feel, The Man in the Mirror, Black or White, Heal the World…

 Michael’s rhythm, voice, beat, emotion, lyrics……moved us from inside out. You couldn’t NOT move to his music, you couldn’t NOT sing to his songs. They transcend time, boundaries, and limitations. They capture the electrical current that is always present in life. Such a genius.
I can’t begin to select just one MJ song to express who I am. MJ himself, his music, art, talent and gifts have been a backdrop to my entire life since pre-adolescence.
He made it easy to move when dancing didn’t come so naturally to me, with songs like The Way You Make Me Feel.

 

His message of acceptance with Black or White is a message for all time.
Man in the Mirror reminds me that there’s always something I can do to make the world a better place.
Michael’s personal life — fraught with suffering, isolation, and accusations of child abuse – leave us with many unresolved questions and sadness. Certainly his history as a victim of abuse is not unlike millions of girls and boys today. In Girls Circle and in The Council we see youth come out of isolation and into healthy connection. We can’t help wishing that it could’ve been different for him and all those in his personal circle.
Yet inside of him was also a healer, who gave of his talents to change the world. For that, I hope that his song Heal the World is one that says something about me. At 51, I feel like this song’s importance has never been more urgent.
For shaping and defining the sounds, rhythms, moods, and movement of my life, I am deeply grateful to Michael Jackson.

~Beth

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

What does Girl Power Really Mean? Teen Eating Disorders Benefit From Parent’s Help

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Renee  |  June 29, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    So beautifully put, Beth! You express so much of what I have heard from others all over the world. Michael Jackson touched so many with his gift of music. For that, we must try to understand what a tragic figure he was, as are many talented, gifted people who have been hurt by others.

    Reply
  • 2. maureen  |  June 29, 2009 at 7:44 am

    thank you sister

    Reply
  • 3. LeeAnn  |  June 29, 2009 at 6:09 am

    I know, I know. I just listened for hours to his music tonight. I love what your wrote – so full circle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Girls Circle

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


