Girls Circle meets with Congresswoman Lynn Woolsey

August 11, 2009 at 11:51 pm 3 comments

Today, I experienced what it feels like to muster up the energy and courage to really ask for what you need. Especially nerve-wrecking because I only had 10 minutes in front of a very busy political figure.

That was my experience today when I met with U.S. House of Representative’s Lynn Woolsey about national funding for the Girls Circle program. Here’s a woman who is in her local office in the 6th Congressional District in California for a short period of time, and whose phone is ringing off the hook about health care, the economy, and the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan…

Thankfully, I was well received and the Congresswoman will continue to support programs that empower woman and girls. And, she is willing to have her staff help the Girls Circle Association seek funding to provide more training and technical assistance to our own constituents!

I thanked her for the many things that she stands for, including speaking out against the rape and sexual violence that have been systematically used against women and girls in Darfur, and for re-introducing the “Go Girl” act that will promote STEM education (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) for girls from K-12.

I spent most of the morning preparing for the meeting, getting all my ducks in a row, figuring out the most important, salient points to make, and then wondering how I would do that in the 10-minute time frame I was given. How do you explain the impact of Girls Circle in 10 minutes? Somehow, I managed to do so.

But not without support. Let me thank my girlfriends and colleagues – Barbara, Kitty, Moorea, and Claire – who each spent time “prepping” me for the meeting. And to Vanessa, my daughter, who attended the meeting with me, who just ten years ago as an 18-year old girl spoke in front of the Congresswoman at a hearing to promote funding for girls in technology.

I walked through a fear today, but I was not alone. To all of us who stand up for the health and well-being of our youth, I thank you. And for those who have stood before me as an example, I pledge to follow in your footsteps….

~Giovanna Taormina
Executive Director of the Girls Circle Association

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

What – or Who – is Behind all this “Girl Fighting”? Miley Cyrus and Other Teen American Idols

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Connecticut Man1  |  August 12, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I went to a healthcare meeting and wanted to talk Senator Dodd about it. I can understand this: “I walked through a fear today, but I was not alone”

    It isn’t easy to go talk to people that are well prepared to talk on pretty much any issue and have been public speaking for years. My lobbying was for single payer and I even managed to capture all fo my “Umms” and “Uhhhs” on video as an interview. lol Take that fear and multiply it by YouTube views, if ya know what I mean. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Shana Ray  |  August 12, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I work with the Congresswoman on her Facebook page, Twitter account and blog and I couldn’t agree with you more. She is truly an inspiration on camera, through the endless work she does and especially in person.

    Thanks for the blog post on the subject, I retweeted it and posted it on the Facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/LynnWoolsey. I would love to hear what you said to her!

    *shana.

    Reply
  • 3. Beth  |  August 12, 2009 at 3:36 am

    Way To Go, G!
    Thank you for your courage, action, and commitment to girls! We are so fortunate for leadership – in the person of Congresswoman Lynn Woolsey, in the colleagues that supported you and our organization today and in preparation for your meeting, and in you, a woman who walks her talk.
    Congratulations on your excellent meeting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Girls Circle

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


